Taekwondo is a Korean martial arts form that has been a part of the Olympics since 2000 Sydney Games. Here's a list of gold medals won till now.


Though making its debut in the 1988 Seoul Games as a demonstrations sport, it wasn't until the 2000 Sydney Games that the Taekwondo was made a permanent part of the Olympics programme. Being one of the two Asian martial arts sports in the Olympics, Taekwondo has gained immense popularity on a global platform too. This Korean martial art form is practiced in 188 countries and in its short Olympic history, the Korean golden touch is evidently visible. Korea, as of 2008 Beijing Games, has won 9 gold medals out of the 24 awarded whereas its total medals tally stands at 12 medals out of the 80 awarded. China, second on the table has won 4 gold medals and USA, Mexico, Iraq and Chinese Taipei have won 2 gold medals each. In the 2012 London Games, 128 competitors will fight it out for the gold in 8 different events. The competition will be held at Excel Arena from 8h August to 11th August.

Men's +80 kg

Men's 68 kg

Women's (57kg) Taekwondo

Women's 49 kg Taekwondo

Women's 67 kg Taekwondo

Men's 58 kg Division

Gold Silver Bronze
2016 Zhao Shuai
Tawin Hanprab
Luisito Pie, Kim Tae-hun
Dominican Republic, South Korea

Men's 68 kg Lightweight

Gold Silver Bronze
2000 Steven López
United States