The modern Olympics, the largest conglomeration of sports, started in 1896. Brainchild of Pierre de Coubertin, the Olympics are celebrated in a different country every four years. The mega event is segregated into Summer Olympics and Winter Olympics. The modern Olympics began in 1896 at Athens, the venue of the ancient Olympics. At the heart of the Olympic event is the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

The first ancient Olympics Games were held at Athens in Greece in 776 BC. The Olympics were eliminated by the Romans in 393 AD when they overrun Greece. The ancient Olympic Games continued for 1170 years! And after the hiatus of more than 1500 years, they again began in 1896.

The Olympic Movement uses several symbols to represent its ideals. The five Olympic rings, representing the five continents, were adopted in 1914 and debuted at the Games at Antwerp, 1920. The five colored rings on a white field form the Olympic Flag. The flag was adopted in 1914 but flown at Antwerp, 1920. The Olympics Motto is 'Citius, Altius, Fortius', a Latin phrase meaning "Swifter, Higher, Stronger". Prior to the Olympics, the Olympic Flame is lit in Olympia, Greece and brought to the host city by runners carrying the torch in relay. The Olympics Mascot represents the cultural heritage of the host country.