List of all Olympics Men's 200 Meter Sprint winners including gold, silver and bronze medalists.

Men's 200 Meter Sprint

The 200 meter sprint for men demands much more than the shorter distance sprint. The athletes must possess the qualities of high speed, flexibility and conditioning.

Debut in Olympics
The 200 meter sprint for men made its debut at the 1900 Paris Summer Olympics. The event was held on a straight track in 1904 St. Louis Olympics. The event was not part of 1906 Olympics. However, after that, it has been a part of every Olympics.

Venue of the Race
On a track with 400 meter length, the race begins from the curve and ends of straight lane. For performing in the 200 meter sprint, the athletes must not only have speed but also the qualities of excellent conditioning and flexibility.


  • The radius of the outside lane of the track should not exceed 50 meter.
  • For measurement of time, a permitted automatic watch has to be used.
  • If an athlete has failed to complete the race, he will not be given any credit.
  • Any runner with a false start will be given one warning. If he makes another false start, he will be disqualified.
  • If the number of athletes is more than ten, preliminary heat events will be arranged.
  • Every event should be held on track and lane as specified by the International Association of Athletes Federation (IAAF).
  • The sprinters are allowed to use spiked shoes.

Dominating Country
The USA has always been a dominating country in 200 meter race for men.

Great Athletes
Some famous sprinters in 200 meter sprint for men are Michael Johnson, Shawn Crawford, Carl Lewis, Michael Marsh, Jesse Owens, Wallace Spearmon, Joe DeLoach, Ato Boldon, Don Quarrie, Henry Carr, Bobby Joe Morrow, Tommie Smith, Frank Fredericks, Tyson Gay, Xavier Carter, and Ralph Craig.