List of all Olympics Women's 3000 Meter Steeplechase winners including gold, silver and bronze medalists.

Women's 3000 Meter Steeplechase

The 3000 meter steeplechase for women event will make its debut at the Olympics during the Beijing Summer Games. It has never been previously played in the Olympics. However, it has been played in some other world level events. It is expected that the event will attract a large number of viewers.

The Event
In the steeplechase, the athlete has to cross two types of obstacles: the metal hurdles and the water pits. Height of the hurdles and breadth of the water pits is determined by the Athletics Association for Athletics Federation or the IAAF. The total distance covered is divided into several laps.

Rules and Regulations
Rules for the 3000 meter steeplechase event are specified by the Athletics Association for Athletics Federation or the IAAF. All IAAF rules are implied during the Olympics Games.
  • Steeplechases must have the capability to adjust to different heights for various events.
  • Specifications of the water pit are set by the IAAF.
  • Any runner who steps out of track is not allowed to take part in the race.
  • The 3000 meter steeplechase event must have 28 jumps and 7 water jumps.
  • Every lap of the 3000 meter steeplechase race should include five jumps. The fourth jump would be water jump.
  • No athlete is allowed to obstruct a competitor's way in the race. If she indulges in such an act, she is instantly disqualified.
  • The runner has to cross the water pit with a jump. She cannot jump on the side of the water pit. If she does so, she is disqualified.
  • All timing devices used must have the approval of the IAAF.
  • The height of the hurdles used is specified by the IAAF. The athletes are allowed to jump over the hurdles in every possible manner.
Top Performers
Top performers in 3000 meter steeplechase event at world level are Yekaterina Volkova, Gulnara Samitova, Dorcus Inzikuru and Jeruto Kiptum.

Women's 3000 Meter Steeplechase Winners at Olympics

Gold Silver Bronze
2008 Gulnara Samitova-Galkina
Eunice Jepkorir
Yekaterina Volkova
2012 Yuliya Zaripova
Habiba Ghribi
Sofia Assefa
2016 Ruth Jebet
Hyvin Kiyeng Jepkemoi
Emma Coburn
United States