List of all Olympics Women's 400 Meter Hurdles winners including gold, silver and bronze medalists.

Women's 400 Meter Hurdles

The 400 meter hurdle for women debuted in the Olympics at the 1984 Los Angeles Summer Games. After the Los Angeles Games, it has been the part of all the Olympics. The event is pretty technical and demands the attributes of endurance, stamina, agility and speed of the athletes' part for good performance. With the distance of 400 meter and so many hurdles, only the highly skilled athletes can perform with success in the competition.

Rules and Regulations
In 400 meter hurdle race for women event in the Olympics, rules and regulations of the International Association of Athletics Federations or IAAF are imposed.
  • IAAF approved devices should be used for measuring the time taken by the athletes to reach the finishing the line.
  • Length, breadth and weight of each hurdle are in accordance with the specifications of the IAAF.
  • All hurdles used in Olympics have to be made of metal.
  • Top bar of the hurdle has to be made of wood.
  • White and black color is painted on top bar of each hurdle.
  • The hurdles must have the capability to be adjusted in different heights for various events.
  • If an athlete unintentionally knocks down the hurdles during the race, it is not considered an offence. It is an offence only when the act is intentional.
  • An athlete is not allowed to obstruct the way of her competitor in any circumstances. If she does so, she is instantly disqualified.
  • If an athlete steps out of the track, she is out of the competition.
  • If a sprinter fails to reach the finishing line, she receives no credit.
Top Performers
Top performers in 400 meter hurdle for women are Nawal El Moutawakel, Ionela Tirlea-Manolache, Kim Batten, Sandra Farmer-Patrick, Fani Halkia, Irina Privalova, Deon Hemmings, Sally Gunnell, Debbie Flintoff-King, Tatyana Ledovskaya, Judi Brown, Tetiana Tereschuk-Antipova, Nezha Bidouane, Tonja Buford-Bailey and Janeene Vickers.

Women's 400 Meter Hurdles Winners at Olympics

Gold Silver Bronze
1984 Nawal El Moutawakel
Judi Brown
United States
Cristieana Cojocaru
1988 Debbie Flintoff-King
Tatyana Ledovskaya
Soviet Union
Ellen Fiedler
East Germany
1992 Sally Gunnell
Great Britain
Sandra Farmer-Patrick
United States
Janeene Vickers
United States
1996 Deon Hemmings
Kim Batten
United States
Tonja Buford-Bailey
United States
2000 Irina Privalova
Deon Hemmings
Nouzha Bidouane
2004 Fani Halkia
Ionela Târlea-Manolache
Tetyana Tereshchuk-Antipova
2008 Melaine Walker
Sheena Tosta
United States
Tasha Danvers
Great Britain
2012 Natalya Antyukh
Lashinda Demus
United States
Zuzana Hejnová
Czech Republic
2016 Dalilah Muhammad
United States
Sara Petersen
Ashley Spencer
United States